Skip to content

Science Advisory Board

← Science

Creative Commons’ Science Advisory Board (SAB) guides its science program and provides overall strategic vision and focus. The SAB brings legal, institutional, and domain-specific knowledge in the use and sharing of scientific tools and data. Our SAB is made up eminent scholars and practitioners from different disciplines and four continents who have volunteered to provide us both the domain expertise as well as regional perspective to help create a truly globally responsive program.


Gilberto CâmaraGilberto Câmara

Gilberto Câmara is a geoinformatics and environmental modelling researcher at the Image Processing Division (DPI) of Brazil’s National Institute for Space Research (INPE). Dr. Câmara was INPE’s general director from 2005 to 2012, after serving as INPE’s director for Earth Observation from 2001 to 2005. He established a free and open access policy for his agency’s data and products. More than two million satellite images were distributed by INPE between 2005 and 2012. INPE made public real-time change maps that were essential to reduce deforestation in the Brazilian Amazonia rain forest. Dr. Câmara serves on the editorial board of the journals Earth Science Informatics, Journal of Spatial Information Science and Computers, Environment, and Urban Systems.

back to top

Michael W. CarrollMichael W. Carroll

Michael Carroll is the Director of the Program on Information Justice and Intellectual Property, American University where he teaches intellectual property law and cyberlaw. Professor Carroll’s research focuses on the search for balance in IP law over time in the face of challenges posed by new technologies. Professor Carroll has been a founding member of the Creative Commons board since 2001. Prior to entering academia, he was an attorney at the Washington, D.C. office of Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering. He also served as a law clerk to Judge Judith W. Rogers of the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit and Judge Joyce Hens Green of the United States District Court for the District of Columbia.

back to top

Robert S. ChenRobert S. Chen

Robert Chen is the Director of the Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) at the Earth Institute, Columbia University. Dr. Chen is also the manager of the NASA Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC) and co-manager of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Data Distribution Center. He has recently completed two four-year terms as secretary-general of the Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) of the International Council for Science (ICSU) and is currently a member of the Board on International Scientific Organizations (BISO) of the U.S. National Research Council.

back to top

MA JuncaiMA Juncai

Juncai Ma is a bioinformatics researcher working on microorganisms information, bio-grid and parallel indexing, and in charge of the development of China Microbial Resource Database, E-Science Bio-Grid, Information Network of Chinese Biotechnology and Industry, as well as Asian Network for Bio-Resource Centers, Global catalogue of microorganisms (GCM). Dr. Ma is currently the Director of Information Center at Institute of Microbiology, Chinese Academy of Science (CAS); the Director of WFCC-MIRCEN World Data Center of Microorganisms (WDCM); and executive of World Federation of Culture Collections.

back to top

Peter Murray-RustPeter Murray-Rust

Peter Murray-Rust is a Reader in Molecular Informatics at the University of Cambridge and a Senior Research Fellow at Churchill College. His research interests include the automated analysis of data in scientific publications, creation of virtual communities, e.g. The Virtual School of Natural Sciences in the Globewide Network Academy and the Semantic Web. Dr. Murray-Rust is a co-developer of Chemical Markup Language. He campaigns for Open Data, particularly in science, and is on the advisory board of the Open Knowledge Foundation and a co-author of the Panton Principles for Open scientific data. In 2011 Dr. Murray-Rust received the Herman Skolnik Award of the American Chemical Society.

back to top

Mackenzie SmithMackenzie Smith

Mackenzie Smith is the University Librarian at the University of California, Davis. Ms. Smith was most recently research director for MIT Libraries from 2011-2012. She led cutting-edge research projects in digital libraries and archives, Web applications for scholarly communication, and digital data curation in support of e-science. Ms. Smith also consults widely in the library field, most recently for the Association of Research Libraries to design and lead a new E-Science Institute, helping research libraries to develop strategic plans to support digital research data curation.

back to top

John WilbanksJohn Wilbanks

John Wilbanks currently runs the Consent to Research project (CtR), a massive clinical research study in which people take the data they can gather about their own health and donate it for computational analysis. Mr. Wilbanks is also one of the founders of the Access2Research petition. As part of CtR, Mr. Wilbanks is a Senior Fellow in Entrepreneurship at the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, a Research Fellow at Lybba, and supported by Sage Bionetworks. Mr. Wilbanks has worked at Harvard’s Berkman Center for Internet & Society, the World Wide Web Consortium, the US House of Representatives, and most recently Creative Commons. Mr. Wilbanks also started a bioinformatics company called Incellico, which is now part of Selventa.

back to top